Writers’ Guild Awards 2016

Short lists have been announced for awards from the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain, and there is a category for video game writing. I am pleased about this because a) it’s cool to have recognition alongside writers for screen, radio, and the stage; and b) check out their excellent taste:

Best Writing in a Video Game
Everybody’s Gone to the Rapture (Dan Pinchbeck)
Her Story (Sam Barlow)
Sunless Sea (Alexis Kennedy, Richard Cobbett, Amal El-Mohtar, Chris Gardiner, Meg Jayanth and Emily Short)

Winners will be announced on January the 18th.

8 thoughts on “Writers’ Guild Awards 2016

  1. Congratulations!

    (Also, rgh, I am trying very hard not to be That Guy Who Constantly Complains About Releases For His Favoured Platform, but damn the PS4-only nature of Everybody’s Gone to the Rapture makes me sad every time I’m reminded of its existence.)

    • Late comment, but indeed. I happen to have a PS4 and EGttR would be my pick for game of the year. And dear god, the score is absolutely incredible. I am certainly not someone who buys video game musical scores, nor do I normally listen to choral music, but Jessica Curry’s music for this game has been the refrain to my holiday season. It’s certainly a case where a game is hampered far more than helped by exclusivity. I’d like to see an emshort review of it (it’s as much interactive fiction as Her Story, but even less gamey — the only choices are what to explore next and the only puzzle is what actually happened — it turns out those are actually consequential enough concerns to be quite compelling), but suspect it’s unlikely due to the platform.

      • I actually bought a PS4 partly because of this piece. I just haven’t gotten around to it yet anyway – but that’s entirely down to spare time/number of other higher-priority obligations.

Leave a Reply

