6 thoughts on “Out of Babylon

  1. The game(?) lost me when it killed my spouse and children in a car crash, then asked me whether I thanked God for sparing me or simply felt lucky. Somehow I feel as though there should have been a third option.

    • Yes, “I suffer survivor guilt and crippling depression” should’ve been a write-in option. Among others.

      It gets even more awful on replay when you realize that the wife and kids only die if you refuse to listen to their advice about the Bible. If the happenings in this game represent the workings of Providence, that would imply that God kills your family because of your faithlessness, even though they were all good and Biblical and stuff.

      • The fundamentalist Christian interpretation of this would be that your wife and kids were taken to Heaven as a reward for their faithfulness while you were left to meditate on the nature of your sins.

        As a game, probably a loss. As a way to interrogate that worldview, perhaps it has some merit.

        (I don’t *agree* with that worldview, to be clear; I’m just familiar with it.)

      • The fundamentalist Christian interpretation of this would be that your wife and kids were taken to Heaven as a reward for their faithfulness while you were left to meditate on the nature of your sins.

        I realize I’m now officially overthinking this, but — if that’s the point, then shouldn’t it be set up so that, if you do listen to their advice, you all die and go to Heaven together?

        Because otherwise, the message seems to be at best that God kills your family to prove a point to you. Maybe that’s okay too? Brr.

Leave a Reply

