Jon Ingold: “Make It Good”

picture-5Jon Ingold has released a new detective game in the mold of Infocom’s Witness.

I haven’t played more than a little way into it, but it looks like hard-boiled goodness and all the ANALYZE and ARREST fun I remember from Deadline. Just the status bar with its fussy details about time and whether I’m wearing gloves… well, it gives me a little reminiscent thrill.

On the other hand, “Make It Good” looks a good bit more novice-friendly than those Infocom mystery offerings, which is terrific, since they weren’t very.

It’s available now for download or for online play via Parchment.

8 thoughts on “Jon Ingold: “Make It Good”

  1. So prompted by this post and one of Adam Cadre’s, I finally dusted off Fail-Safe, which I had previously found impenetrable for some reason. (A) It’s very, very easy. Unless (B) I’m missing a substantial arc of the game.

    From reviews, it sounds like there are multiple endings (“at least three”), but I’m not sure I’ve found even two (one, where the distress caller’s ship is destroyed before the laser is online, another where the laser is online). Is there a walkthrough or text dump of the game somewhere so that I can see if there’s more to it?

  2. I guess I had already gotten all three endings, but when I got the “best” ending, I hadn’t realized exactly what was happening. Not to further derail the post, but this strikes me as a game that could have been pushed to a much greater level with slightly better pacing — a little more content in the middle section (even one or two more puzzles) and a little bit of denouement at the end (even just two more sentences).

  3. I just played “Fail-Safe” on Spatterlight, and read the Club Floyd transcript, and it is my considered opinion that when crucial actions depend on entering codes you get from a document IT WOULD BE NICE IF THAT DOCUMENT WOULD ACTUALLY SHOW UP IN THE GAME WINDOW WHEN IT WAS SUPPOSED TO. Damn y indeed.

    • Er.

      The people in that transcript are playing the game using a bot on ifMUD, which has a hacked, non-standard interpreter and cannot do everything a normal z-machine can. Sometimes it fails to handle perfectly well-tested screen effects that work everywhere else.

      It’s not the author’s fault when this is the case; it’s a risk that people choose to run when playing games via Floyd, in exchange for the enjoyment of being able to share that experience with others. But I hardly think this is something that deserves fiery all-caps wrath.

  4. Sorry, I wasn’t clear — I was playing on my Mac, using Spatterlight, and I had the exact same problem that Club Floyd did. I’m not sure where the problem lies, it just seemed to me that if the problem happens in two very different platforms it’s, well, problematic.

      • No problem — on reflection Fail-Safe is from 2001, and there’s no reason to expect it to hold up perfectly through all the subsequent hardware/software updates. And it wasn’t worth the CAPS LOCK OF FURY anyway.

Leave a Reply

