Homer in Silicon

Thanks to Simon Carless, I have a biweekly GameSetWatch column now. I’ll be using it to talk about games and storytelling — sometimes drawing on IF, sometimes not.

The column title (besides the obvious) is a reminder that storytelling hasn’t always primarily taken the form of written text on a page, even though that’s what we currently tend to revere most (with books getting more respect than movies, and movies more than video games). Oral narrative was flexible but sometimes formulaic, and the teller shaped it somewhat to fit the audience.

3 thoughts on “Homer in Silicon

  1. I was more enthralled by the Time Traveller’s “speech” at the beginning of the book than by anything after that. I liked the whole thing, but I find it a little bit amusing that the text speech was the best part.

  2. Hi Emily! I’m working on the Homeric connection myself, and I’m wondering whether our visions of how the model might be applied are similar at all, and whether you might be interested in the project I’ve got going on–the creation of a Center for Video Games and Human Values, springing directly out of the analogy between gamer and bard, and of the game-haters and Plato. I’d love to discuss it here, or at my place, or via e-mail.

Leave a Reply

